Kumamoto City is planning a change to its subsidized transport program that could make some journeys cheaper for eligible older residents and disability certificate holders. The proposed Odekake Touch program would cap their monthly out-of-pocket fares, while extending coverage to certain transport services elsewhere in Kumamoto Prefecture. But the change is not simply a new name for a card: eligibility, participating operators, excluded services and a new payment-method registration all matter.
The city announced the plan on October 27, 2026. It expects Odekake Touch to replace the Odekake IC Card program on April 1, 2027. The new arrangements are still a plan, not a benefit already in force, and the city says it will send individual notices in December 2026. Until the city publishes the detailed instructions, residents should treat the figures and transition dates as proposed information rather than as a final operating guide. (Kumamoto City announcement; Kumamoto Nichinichi Shimbun report)
The proposed benefit, in plain terms
The city proposes two monthly fare caps. Eligible residents aged 70 or older would pay no more than ¥1,400 in fares per month. Eligible holders of disability certificates would pay no more than ¥700 per month. These are proposed monthly out-of-pocket limits, not stated cash payments or a discount on every individual ride. The announcement describes the program as being for Kumamoto City residents. It does not establish that living elsewhere in the prefecture, using a participating bus, or meeting an age threshold alone is enough to qualify. (Kumamoto City announcement)
That distinction is useful when thinking about the benefit. A fare cap concerns the total eligible fares counted during a month. It is not the same as a single flat fare, and it does not mean that all transport in the region becomes free after a certain number of rides. The city’s announcement gives the cap amounts and names services planned for inclusion, but detailed questions—such as precisely how monthly fares will be counted—should be checked in the operating instructions when they are issued.

Think of the proposed cap like a monthly spending lid placed over a particular group of journeys: eligible fares can accumulate beneath it, but trips outside the program do not automatically count toward that limit. The lid is different for the two stated eligibility groups, and the trip still needs to use a covered service.
| Who the city identifies | Proposed monthly out-of-pocket cap |
|---|---|
| Eligible Kumamoto City residents aged 70 or older | ¥1,400 |
| Eligible Kumamoto City disability certificate holders | ¥700 |
The word “eligible” is important in both rows. The announcement does not provide enough detail to decide an individual’s eligibility from age or certificate status alone. Nor should the two groups be assumed to have identical registration requirements or documentation: the city’s forthcoming notice and instructions are the place to confirm those particulars. (Kumamoto City announcement)
Which journeys are planned to count?
The city says the planned coverage includes five prefectural bus companies, Kumamoto Electric Railway trains and Kumamoto City Tram. This is the expansion that makes Odekake Touch more than a change to the existing card arrangement: it is intended to cover specified services across Kumamoto Prefecture as well as the city tram. The announcement does not name the five bus companies in the evidence available here, so do not guess which operator a particular route belongs to. Check the city’s detailed list before relying on a route being covered. (Kumamoto City announcement)
The city explicitly lists JR, express buses, rapid buses and airport limousine buses as excluded. In practical terms, a trip’s destination is not enough to determine whether its fare counts; the operator and service type matter too. A journey that partly uses a covered bus and partly uses an excluded service should not be treated as wholly covered. The available announcement does not explain how mixed journeys, transfers or fare adjustments will be handled, so those are questions for the detailed rules rather than assumptions to settle in advance. (Kumamoto City announcement)

A useful mental picture is a journey made of separate ticket stubs. The proposed cap applies only to the stubs belonging to listed services; a JR or excluded bus stub remains outside the program even if it is part of the same outing. This is an analogy, not a description of the eventual fare-accounting mechanism.
| Planned inclusion | Named exclusion |
|---|---|
| Five prefectural bus companies | JR |
| Kumamoto Electric Railway trains | Express buses and rapid buses |
| Kumamoto City Tram | Airport limousine buses |
The table summarizes the city’s stated categories, not a complete route-by-route map. “Bus” by itself is too broad a label to rely on: some bus services are planned for coverage and some are specifically excluded. If you regularly take a particular route, identify the operator and service type, then compare them with the city’s official list once it is published. (Kumamoto City announcement)
What current cardholders should do
The city expects current Odekake IC Cards to remain usable through September 30, 2027. That gives the existing card a period of continued use after the planned April 1 start of Odekake Touch. But continued usability is not the same as automatic enrollment in the new cap: the city says residents must register a new payment method to access the cap and expanded coverage. (Kumamoto City announcement)
A sensible sequence is to wait for the individual notice expected in December 2026, read it for eligibility and registration instructions, and then complete the required new payment-method registration if you want to use the proposed program. Keep the notice available while checking what to do with the current card. The announcement does not specify the payment methods that will be accepted, how registration will work, or whether residents must visit a particular office. Those details should come from the city’s notice, not from assumptions based on how the existing card works.
It is also worth keeping the two dates separate. April 1, 2027, is the planned start of Odekake Touch; September 30, 2027, is the date through which the city expects current cards to remain usable. The first date concerns the proposed new program, while the second concerns the expected usability of the old card. Neither date, on its own, says that a resident has completed the new registration needed for the cap.
An illustrative scenario
Illustrative example: suppose an eligible Kumamoto City resident aged 70 or older takes a combination of journeys during a month, some on a service listed for inclusion and some on JR. The announced proposal gives a ¥1,400 monthly cap for that resident group, and JR is listed as excluded. It would therefore be unsafe to assume that every fare in the example counts toward the cap. The city has not supplied enough detail here to calculate the covered total or explain how mixed itineraries will be accounted for. The practical next step would be to check the final operator and fare rules, rather than subtracting all travel spending from the stated cap.
A similar caution applies to a person with a disability certificate. The proposed cap for eligible certificate holders is ¥700, but the evidence does not specify which certificate categories qualify, what proof is needed, or how the amount applies if a person may fit more than one described group. Do not infer those rules from the headline amount. Confirm them in the city’s eligibility guidance when available. (Kumamoto City announcement)
Common misunderstandings to avoid
Assuming the cap covers everyone in Kumamoto Prefecture. The city describes the program as intended for Kumamoto City residents. The planned inclusion of some prefectural bus services does not, by itself, broaden the stated residency eligibility.
Treating every bus as covered. Five prefectural bus companies are planned for inclusion, but express buses, rapid buses and airport limousine buses are listed as excluded. Check the operator and service category, not just the vehicle type.
Counting JR because it is part of a covered trip. JR is explicitly excluded. The announcement does not say that a transfer or shared itinerary changes that exclusion.
Thinking the existing card automatically unlocks the new benefit. The city expects current cards to remain usable through September 30, 2027, but says access to the new cap and expanded coverage requires registering a new payment method.
Treating the plan as already active or fully specified. The planned start is April 1, 2027, and the city expects to mail individual notices in December 2026. The detailed eligibility and operating procedures still need confirmation in those notices and later guidance. (Kumamoto City announcement)
A short checklist for the transition
When the city’s notice arrives, use it to resolve the points that the announcement alone cannot settle:
- Confirm that you meet the final residency and eligibility requirements.
- Check whether your certificate type, if relevant, is included and what proof is required.
- Identify the operator and service type for the routes you expect to use.
- Confirm whether those services appear on the city’s final covered list; do not count JR, express buses, rapid buses or airport limousine buses as covered based on the current announcement.
- Follow the city’s instructions to register a new payment method if you want to use the cap and expanded coverage.
- Note the planned April 1, 2027 start and the expected September 30, 2027 end of current-card usability, while watching for any revised instructions.
The most useful takeaway is not simply that monthly fares may be capped at ¥1,400 or ¥700. Residents will need to meet the city’s eligibility rules, use a listed service and complete the required new payment-method registration. For now, the plan offers a clear outline but leaves operational details to follow. The December notice and subsequent city guidance should determine how an individual resident actually transitions and which journeys count.
Sources
- 令和8年(2026年)10月27日 定例市長記者会見 (2026-10-27)
- 熊本市の高齢者・障がい者運賃割引… (2026-10-27)



